Vegan Mince Pies!!!!!

wp_20161101_0021

I was so disappointed that M&S did not have a no-butter version of the classic mince pies, that I decided to make my own. It is much harder to find them here than in the UK (clearly) as this is clearly a traditional English pastry.

I bought some classic mince meat  instead (I have to work on a recipe and make my own) and was truly happy to come home to make some myself.

wp_20161101_0091

Ingredients for the crust:

200 gr of flour (I used white flour)

100 gr of soya margarine

1 flax egg (1 tablespoon of linseeds + 3 tablespoons of water)

20 gr of coconut sugar (much nicer than standard sugar, it gives a nice smooth flavour and that’s without accounting for the fact that it is better for you than the bleached stuff)

Method:

Mix all the ingredients for the crust with a fork (so you do not warm up the margarine) and create 10 small balls (you should have pastry left) that I flattened into a muffin silicon tray (to make small pies).

I used the remaining pastry to create the tops (hats) of the pies.

Add a large teaspoon of the mince meat straight from the jar to the  and added the hat of each pie.

Bake in pre-heated oven at 190°C for 30 minutes and place on a tray to cool.

The bottom of the pies was still a bit humid, so i had to be careful and get a couple to cool down upside down. If that is the case also for you when the little beauties come out of the oven, please be careful. Once cool, the bottom dried and these were absolutely lovely. The coconut sugar was definitely a fab idea in this recipe, it sweetened the pastry just enough.

All you have got to do now, is prepare some tea… Enjoy!wp_20161101_0161

