French Custard / Crème Patissière

WP_20160723_019[1]

This time, it is cream I fancied so I tried to work on a recipe that was light and thick and sweet all at once 🙂

Here is my little marvel. Clearly being a sweet tooth, I just eat it with strawberries, but you are welcome to add sponge cake at the bottom of the dish to make it more like a triffley pudding.

Step 1:

I used 250ml of almond milk and 250ml of coconut milk that I put on the slow burner to warm up with half a teaspoon of vanilla powder.

J’ai utilisé 250ml chacun de lait d’amande et de lait de coco que j’ai réchauffé dans une casserole pour tiédir avec une demi cuillère de vanille en poudre.

WP_20160723_001[1]  WP_20160723_003[1]

Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, I mixed 2 eggs with 100 gr of brown cane sugar.

Pendant ce temps,je mélange 2 oeufs et 100 gr de cassonade dans un grand bol.

WP_20160723_002[1]

Then I add 80 gr flour (I chose corn flour to keep the cream/custard light and easy to digest) and mix till crumbly.

J’ajoute ensuite 80 gr de farine de maïs (pâte plus légère et facile à digérer) que je mixe jusqu’à avoir des brisures.

WP_20160723_004[1]

WP_20160723_005[1]

WP_20160723_006[1]

I then add a little bit of the warmed milk and start gently mixing the crumbs so they dilute in the vanilla flavored milk.

Ensuite, je met un peu de lait à la vanille tiède dans ma base de pâte et je mélange doucement pour éliminer les grumeaux. 

WP_20160723_008[1]

Then, I pour the mix into the pan of warm milk and mix (still with my wooden spoon but you can use a whisk if you prefer) till thre are to clumps left. Turn the hob back on to medium heat and keep stirring.

Ensuite, je met ma solution de base dans le lait chaud et je mélange (toujours à la cuillère en bois mais vous pouvez utiliser un fouet si vous le préférez) jusqu’à ce que les grumeaux disparaissent. Remettre sur un feu moyen et continuer de mélanger.

WP_20160723_009[1]

When the first bubbles appear (you should still be stirring) the cream starts to thicken. I normally turn down the heat and keep mixing till I have a thick custard. (If you like yours quite liquidy, I recommend that you turn off the heat when bubbles start to appear.)

Quand les premières bulles naissent (vous devriez être toujours en train de remuer), la crème commence à épaissir. Vous pouvez éteindre le feu si vous souhaitez garder votre crème assez liquide. Moi, je continue de touiller un peu, j’aime quand elle est assez épaisse.

WP_20160723_011[1]

Once the fire is off, I normally stir for a little longer to help it cool a little and pour the custard into a bowl that I cover with cling film (it stops a hard top layer to form).

Je dois avouer que je mélange crème encore un peu après avoir arrêté la cuisson pour qu’elle refroidisse un peu. Je la transfère dans un bol avec une feuille de film alimentaire pour prévenir la formation d’une croûte.

When it is cold, then you can assemble how you fancy. I advise adding either pieces of shortbread, meringue or sponge at the bottom of the dish, dollops of your cream/custard on top and finish with fresh strawberries…

Hope you enjoy it!

Quand c’est froid, vous pouvez l’assembler/la manger comme vous le voulez. Par exemple, mettre de la meringue au fond, des sablés épais, du gâteau, ajouter de grosses cuillerées de votre crème et finir avec des fraises fraîches au dessus.

Bon appétit!

