Veggie pie

IMG_20140909_220528

Here is a fabulous recipe…. never thought it would taste this good the first time round!

I made shortcut pastry using 120 grammes of flour, 70 grammes of margarine (I used Fruit D’ Or lactose free), a little salt and pepper, a little mustard. Mixed and spread into  the dish, using fingers is traditional  forme but you could use a pastry roll to do a more elegant job? Up to you 🙂

For the filling, I cooked a courgette in boiling water till soft and separately, I cooked:

1 shallot

1 piece of garlic

1 red pepper

1/2 aubergine

Cook in a little olive oil with spices of your choice (I am a big fan of paprika and chilli) until well done, this took a good half an hour…. it also means that the flavours all come out… yummmmm

A good piece of advice, you can precook the pastry for 10 minutes to avoid a soggy bottom.

Putting it altogether:

– add a little grated cheese at the bottom (a super thin layer, this is is not a cheese tart!)

– add the courgette

– then the pepper/aubergine mix

– I also added a couple of eggs beaten with a good splash of soya cream

– on top, I added some slices of goats cheese on top

Bake for about 30 minutes at 180 degrees C.

Leave to cool a little, to avoid burning your tongue like I did…. Bon appetit!

