Caramel choc shortbread

ImageSince I love this stuff, I decided to launch myself into trying to make it…. this version is definitely not as sweet or greasy and heavy as the traditional recipes.

I baked the base mix (200 grammes of flour plus 100 grammes of sugar and 70 grammes of vegetable spread) at 180 degrees Celsius till the top was golden.

Once it was cold, I added the caramel: water and 200 grammes of sugar to which I added 30ml of soya single cream in one go… quikly stir, stir, stir… and then pour onto the base.

Let the second layer cool and then, step 3. Melt 200 grammes of dark chocolate with 70 grammes of soya margarine and one table spoon of light corn syrup (I used Golden syrup) in a bowl over boiling water. Cream the ingredients together till smooth.

Spread over the caramel and leave to cool.

Enjoy with a nice cup of tea or fresh coffee…. d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.

