New yummy things – part one – Apple and Hazlenut pie

I am not sure where to start with my baking update of weird and wonderful trials… I lost my internet connection and had been unable to add any new posts. So where do I start?

The pumpkin & maple biscuits? Apple & Hazlenut pie? Fruit tarts? Chocolate Spread Nutty Bites?  Woopie pies?

I guess I will start with the apple and hazelnut pie. This is going to become one of my classic recipes as it was so good and so quick to make. It was yummy both straight out of the oven and cold…. then again, it is up to you whether you want to add some vanilla ice cream (I recommend this: Swedish Glace smooth vanilla image) or you can just go for some soya custard… or even apple sorbet.D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S.

Ingredients you will need for the base:

100 grammes hazlenuts powder (I had hazlenuts from my grandad’s garden that I opened and put through the blender to reduce to powder)… I am pretty sure you can find packets of the stuff ready for you to use 😉

60 grammes corn flour

40 grammes of maize flour

2 tablespoons of almond oil (but you could replace this by the margarine/oil of your choice)

water to bind

Remember that when mixing up these ingredients, you need to add the water a little at a time to make sure that you don’t end up with a really goowey base.  Make sure you prick the pastry with a fork to avoid air bubbles deforming your crust.

Hazlenut base

I baked mine in a glass dish (so I can see the bottom is cooked) for 10 minutes only in a pre-heated oven at 180 degrees (Celsius).

Ingredients for the filing:

filing ingredients

4 apples, peeled and grated

 lemon juice (about 2 or 3 tablespoons to stop the apples browning)

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

handful of sultanas

In a bowl, I grated the apples, added the lemon juice and sultanas then the spices… mix well to spread the seasoning throughout.

b4 oven

I baked the pie till the edges browned a little and underneath looked dry and the apples are cooked.

pie baked

You could potentially let it cook a little longer (if you do not pre-cook the pastry) but I was too scared the base would be too dry.

We had this warm with some soya custard…. delicious 🙂

Hope you enjoy yours!

Leave a Reply

