Chocolate Spread Cookies

Ok, since I cannot eat Nutella… there is the option of making my own (as you would expect one to do when you can’t have dairy and I do have this on my list of things to do) or there is the option of getting a me-friendly one from Asda:

I saw this recipe ages ago from Ashton’s website and decided that since I have now found the main ingredient, it was time to give it a shot. Clearly, I had to change the ingredients to match my requirements but you can go visit her site for yummy ideas if you are not as restricted as I am 🙂

Oven on at 180 degrees (Celsius) as always for pre-heating.

Here are the ingredients I put in the blender (very happy that this worked as a fast-put-together recipe):

  • 1/4 cup chocolate spread
  • 1/2 cup soya margarine
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of Tate & Lyle’s “light at heart” (white sugar & stevia)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 and 1/4 cup of maize flour (gluten free and easier to digest than normal flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Blitz in pulses till it comes together in chunks, then add about 50 grammes of chocolate chips (or about half a small packet). You do not want to overwork the dough.

I  spaced out dollops of the wet dough on a greaseproof sheet and put the tray in the oven for nearly 10 minutes (kept my eyes on them as I did not want the chocolate to burn). Cool on a rack.

nutella cookies

I took them into work and must admit that they taste rather good with a black coffee… How do you like yours?

Leave a Reply

