Lentil and chickpea stew

Ingredients you will need for this are:

  • about 150 grammes of red lentils
  • a can of chickpeas
  • a can of tomatoes (I used plum toms as they taste better to me)
  • 800 ml Marigold Swiss Vegetable Bouillon powder (stock to you and me)
  • spices (curry, turmeric, cumin), 2 small dried red chillis, a little coriander, salt & pepper
  • 1 red onion
  • coconut or olive oil

Image

So I put this one up earlier and it disappeared… must have pressed the wrong button, grrrrrr. Technology and me are not friends apparently.

I pre-cooked red lentils and one can of chickpeas (separately) in cold water for about 10 minutes. This re-hydrates the red lentils a little.

Ok, onto the stew. Chop 1 red onion and cook in a deep pan with 2 tablespoons of coconut oil (or olive oil) till translucent.

Add spices (woohoo and yummm): curry, turmeric, cumin, coriander, 2 small dried red chillis, salt and pepper. I do this ‘a la Nigella’ as in, I look at what I put in the pan and just add… if you need accurate measurements, I am guessing it is about a teaspoon of all but the salt (unless you love salt then go for 1/2 teaspoon, I personally don’t so it is only a pinch for me). Mix with the onion away from the hob.

Add the red lentils, stir and add the vegetable stock. Stir.

Also add the chickpeas and tomatoes in the pan, stir and cook till boiling, cover and simmer for about 45 minutes on the lowest heat.

I ate this with corn tortillas that I had grilled in the pan (no oil, on slow heat to dry them out and brown them a little and obtain torilla-like crisps pieces).

I hope you like it as much as I did! 🙂 Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

