Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie

Finally made this…. I got the recipe in 1998 in the States and has since then not done anything with it, so yesterday, whilst the electrician was busy, I decided to give it a go.

I made a simple shortcut pastry, using plain flour (125 gr) and soya margarine (about 80 gr), which I part-baked so the crust would hold its shape when I poured the filling in 🙂

Now for the Filling: 

I whizzed 1 cup of pecan nuts through the blender to get thick grains.

Then I whisked 3 eggs till frothy, then added a teaspoon (ish) of vanilla. I never really measure this out, it is more kinda of a look how much you put in (I love the flavour).

I also added 3/4 cup of the mixed brown sugar (contains Stevia) and 1/2 cup of golden syrup. Mix all this together with the nuts and pour into the case.

Bake at 200 C for 10 minutes then lower the temperature to 180 C for another 20 mins. (I have an old style gas oven so you may need to check/adjust your cooking time to your fan oven). The top started to crack a little so I switched everything off and opened the oven door but left the pie in there for another 10 minutes.

 

 

Pecan Pie the next day

This is what it looks like the next day… and it tasted absolutely delicious… Hope you enjoy it as much as we did at work 😉

Leave a Reply

